Marijuana laws are rapidly changing in various states around the US, but what about Utah marijuana laws? Is marijuana legal in Utah? And how have cannabis laws in Utah changed over the years? This guide will cover all you need to know about Utah marijuana laws.
Marijuana laws in Utah currently state that the recreational use of marijuana is illegal, and possessing small amounts of this drug can be classified as a misdemeanor. However, Utah medical cannabis laws have allowed for the medical usage of marijuana since 2018 for qualifying patients under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act.
Yes, Utah medical marijuana laws allow for patients with qualifying conditions to purchase and use medical marijuana from official, qualified medical cannabis pharmacies. This has been the case since 2018 when the Utah Legislature passed the Utah Medical Cannabis Act.
If you’re considering using medical marijuana to manage your health condition, it’s important to consult with a medical marijuana doctor. Our doctors can help you navigate the legal landscape, obtain the necessary documentation and certifications, and provide you with guidance on the best strains and dosages for your condition.
Even though Utah currently allows those with conditions like a terminal illness or debilitating seizures to use medical marijuana with approval from the Utah Medical Cannabis Act, recreational usage of this drug is still entirely outlawed. Possession, sale, and cultivation of recreational marijuana can all be punished by the law in the state of Utah.
Next, let’s take a look at some of Utah’s various marijuana laws and how people may be punished for things like possession and cultivation of cannabis in this state.
Possession and purchase of marijuana in Utah are allowed for holders of a Utah medical marijuana card and approval from their physician. People without a card are not allowed to buy or use marijuana, and possessing certain amounts can be punished with large fines and several years of imprisonment.
How Much Can I Buy and Possess?
According to Utah’s medical marijuana laws, qualifying patients are only able to buy and possess an amount that is sufficient for up to 30 days of treatment, relevant to the appropriate dosage guidelines for their condition. This should equate to no more than 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis flower at a time.
Where Can I Obtain Cannabis?
It’s only possible to buy cannabis in Utah from approved dispensaries.
Who Can Legally Purchase Cannabis in Utah?
Only holders of a medical marijuana card may legally buy and use cannabis in Utah.
Home cultivation is illegal in Utah.
It is possible to use medical cannabis cards from other states to possess cannabis in Utah while visiting or when living in the state for 45 days or less.
According to Utah marijuana laws, it’s possible to use marijuana in this state, only if you have one of the listed qualifying conditions, as outlined by the Utah Department of Health and Human Services.
Where Can I Safely Consume Cannabis?
Cannabis products may only be consumed in private places in the state of Utah, or in healthcare locations that allow for the usage of these products.
Medical marijuana in Utah is only available for people with specific medical conditions, including the following:
- HIV or AIDS
- Persistent nausea
- Crohn’s disease
- Lateral sclerosis
- Terminal illnesses
- Rare conditions
- Chronic pain
Holders of medical marijuana cards may transport appropriate amounts (no more than 113g of flower) from place to place.
It is illegal to drive any vehicle while under the influence of cannabis products.
It may be possible to expunge prior convictions of possession of marijuana in Utah, but this will vary from case to case.
Obtaining a Utah medical marijuana card involves getting approval from your physician and filling in some forms.